Kid’s Crafts – Eggshell Insects

So I’ve decided to expand this blog a bit by sharing some of the crafts that I do with my 3 and 4-year-old daughters. I don’t think my ideas are particularly special or unique, but I try really hard to find/come up with ways to incorporate things that would otherwise be thrown away.

But first, I wanted to include an excerpt of a post that I wrote for The Mommy Playbook. You can click on the link if you want to read the whole thing, but here’s the most important part (as it pertains to this blog).

“I do buy some craft supplies – while it is possible to create crafts using only things found lying around the house – or headed for the garbage can – being able to incorporate the occasional pom-pom or wiggly eye makes things so much more fun.”

Anyway, I just wanted to point this out, since at first-glance it could seem hypocritical to have a blog tagline reading “creating kid’s crafts out of household trash” while posting pictures of things made out of pipe cleaners (etc.)

That said, I really do buy minimal craft supplies. They’re almost always from the dollar store (or Target’s irresistible Dollar Spot) and I generally only choose things that can be used in multiple crafts (like packets of stickers, or the aforementioned pipe cleaners) versus pre-made “craft kits.”

And – don’t tell my kids – but many crafts end up, well…recycled themselves. As much as I love everything they make, we do a craft nearly every day, and the fact is that I can’t keep it all on display (or stored away) indefinitely. So sometimes, once a few weeks have passed I’ll disassemble and return whatever can be reused to the craft supply bin.

*****************************************************************************************

egg carton craft

P was less than enthused about my taking her picture.

Egg carton insects are a classic. The girls each made a spider*, butterfly, and caterpillar (1, 2, and 3 “bumps,” respectively, which meant the project used one egg carton exactly.)

*I know spiders aren’t insects

egg carton spider

Meet Scary the spider

egg carton catepillar

Sarah the caterpillar

and Butterflyie the butterfly

Leave a Reply

