Hand-carved candlestand

Stopping by to share a quick rehab I just finished šŸ™‚

I got this hand-carved candle stand at a thrift store for $3.50. It had a crack in the base, and the finish was pretty bad with lots of water stains and scuffs. It’s such a unique & pretty piece though – I didn’t get a picture, but if you look at the bottom you can see the rings from the tree – it was most likely carved right out of the trunk.

I really hesitated about painting it, because it had such a beautiful natural color and characteristics, but after patching the crack with wood filler and using some Restore-a-Finish on the top, I still wasn’t thrilled with how it looked (and the wood filler didn’t exactly match.) So I went ahead and spray painted it marigold yellow and chipped it up a bit. Something like this just didn’t look right with a flawless glossy finish!

BEFORE

AFTER

I’ve picked up some amazing roadside finds lately that I’ll be back soon to share!

2 thoughts on “Hand-carved candlestand

Leave a Reply

